Trouble with new vocab?

Just a quick thought I’d like to write out. As I’m working my way through Core6k, I’ve been getting batches of words that are pretty difficult to get into my head. Mostly political/business oriented words or words that aren’t something you hear in an anime. Until now, I’ve just been letting anki do all the work, and by that I mean failing the cards a lot until they stick. But the past couple of days I’ve tweaked how I do my initial learning.

If you don’t know already, I have a “Learn Deck” for my vocab cards. This is just a deck with micro intervals that let me review a batch of words repeatedly throughout the day. Then, the next day I delete them from my Learn Deck and add them to my Core6k deck for long term retention. The tweak in question involves generating two separate card templates. The first template is like this:

FRONT:
せいせき
成績

BACK:
せいせき
成績
results, record
成績が上がりました。

I put the reading on the front of the card so I’m only testing my knowledge of the meaning of the vocab word. The second template is like this:

FRONT:
成績

BACK:
せいせき

This template tests my knowledge on the reading of the vocab word.

This basically doubles the amount of cards I have, but makes each card easier to answer. Instead of having to recall the reading and the meaning for each vocab word for each card, now I only have to worry about one at a time. It has made the initial learning process easier and quicker, but only time will tell if it has an effect on my long term retention. I’ll have to keep an eye out.

Leave a Reply

