8/5/12

I’ve started writing some other articles on here that aren’t standard “journal” type things. I’m going to link them all in the Table of Contents page at the top so keep an eye out for those.

As for what I’m doing, so far I’ve just been plugging away at my Core6k deck. 30 words per day is definitely much more doable than 40 so I’m very glad that I switched. Also, I would be completely screwed if it wasn’t for my Learn Deck. Since I’m learning words from a frequency wordlist rather than just discovering them in the wild, it’s hard to get a strong connection to them. If I were just sticking with Anki’s default scheduling for these words, I’d be failing them at least 20 times before getting them in my brain. My separate Learn Deck with micro intervals takes care of the initial “priming” of the words so that when I add them to my regular Core deck, I’m already familiar with them. This makes it much easier to transition them from short-term to long-term memory.

As for my sentence deck, I was toying around with continuing the rest of Tae Kim, adding small sections every few days, but now it’s for realsies. I’m about 3/4 of the way through Special Expressions and then I have all of Advanced Topics until I’m finished. Hopefully this won’t take more than a few weeks. I usually add about 15 – 20 sentences per day, but it all depends on how many sentences are in each section and how many sections I manage to complete.

2 comments
  1. Lucy Beliveau said:

    Hi Walter, I am really intrigued with your journal! Your system sounds incredibly efficient and it seems to be working very well. You are definitely a determined, not to mention intelligent, young man. I’ll check in often to see how your doing. Take care!

    • walteranderson said:

      Thank you for the kind words. Since it feels like I’m always changing how I do things, it’s hard to quantify my progress. Hopefully I’m just as confident in a few months haha.

Leave a Reply

