7/20/12

 

I’ve been fairly optimistic about Japanese lately. It seems that doing Core6k was a good idea because my level of comprehension is noticeably improving. I’m starting to understand more and more. A couple of things to note:
Sentence deck is getting more sentences recently. I’ve actually deleted my standalone vocab deck in favor of inputting more sentences. The problem here is, vocab cards are definitely a lot easier for me to go through, but I’ve always wanted to have a strong sentence deck and I believe the context is very important when learning new words. I added the sentence audio to my core deck and have been shadowing most of the sentences several times for each rep. Doing this definitely takes a lot more time so I usually only do it if I feel like spending more time on my anki reps. Speaking of shadowing…
I have thought about it a lot over the past few months and I think that I am finally at a place where I can take advantage of shadowing as an actual technique to incorporate into my studies. I really like the white rabbit press shadowing book that they have, and for 20 dollars I think it’ll definitely be worth it to buy it and get some serious shadowing practice in. Shadowing is supposed to help with speaking and listening comprehension etc etc and I definitely think that I need that kind of practice. I want to start speaking Japanese more but I lack the confidence. I think this will give me some confidence to make the plunge into more speaking-related activities.
I’ve been mulling over the idea of trying to bash out the rest of the sentences in my Tae Kim deck. They’re just sitting there suspended in my sentence deck gathering dust, and I definitely plan on studying them eventually. I’m considering just banging that out now, maybe a quick and dirty approach, and then use the abundance of reviews that I will inevitably have to actually let that content sink in. And since I switched all the Tae Kim sentences that I have to recognition (instead of cloze delete production style), it won’t be as slow going as the first part of Tae Kim. I’m still not sure if having them as cloze delete really helped any more than if they were just vanilla sentences. We’ll have to see if the rest of Tae Kim’s guide sticks as well as the first part. Anyway, I’m not sure when/if I’m going to do this. It may be soon if I can find some extra time/motivation, but since I am now taking a summer class on top of 40 hours at work it may not be in my near future.

 

Leave a Reply

