1/30/12

I AM OFFICIALLY DONE WITH RTK1!!!! Here’s a little thing I wrong for the “I just finished RTK1” thread on revtk.
“So I can now officially say that I am done with RtK 1 on January 30th, 2012. I started way back on October 28, 2011, so it’s been 94 days (or 3 months and 2 days). I started because I was unsatisfied with my level of Japanese and the class I was taking at the time was going absurdly slow (It would have taken me 4 semesters to finish Genki 1). At the time, I was reading a lot of Japanese blogs, like Tofugu and AJATT, and it seemed like everyone in these communities were circling around RtK and RevTK. Once I started doing the first 250 kanji included in the little sample, I knew that this was a much better use of my time than sticking with conventional methods. At first I planned on going slowly, learning the language at the same time as RtK. I went from adding 8-10 per day to 20 per day. At this point, I decided to burn through the rest of the book without pursuing any other aspects of the language. I moved on to adding 30-40 per day after that. I didn’t start moving quickly until this month, when I realized I had to add quite a bit more if I wanted to finish before February. So for the better part of January, I’ve been adding 50-60 per day. It worked out quite nicely, I ended up with exactly 50 kanji to add today (didn’t have to go on a 100+ kanji adding binge to finish the book). Hopefully that will keep my reviews from being awful. They’ve seemed to stay pretty consistently at ~250 reviews per day. I’ll be happy to see this get smaller over the next few weeks.

After this, I have a rough outline of where I’d like to focus my studies. It involves tackling Subs2srs/reading a lot with sentence/vocab acquisition. I didn’t want to dive right into more pre-mined material after RtK because I think it will be too boring for me and burn me out faster. I’m confident I’ll see some results, whether they be good or bad, within the next few months.I want to thank everyone who shared their stories on this site. I know I’d still be plodding along in the middle of this book if it weren’t for this amazing community and the amount of knowledge that you all are willing to share.”

Basically, I don’t know what to do with myself. I have been doing RtK, for what seems like, a million years. How do you go about studying other parts of Japanese? I dunno. I guess we’ll find out tomorrow. As much as I want to get started in on new stuff, I’d rather wait until tomorrow.
Leave a Reply

